GSODA has had a long association with the arts in Geelong. The Company was first formed in 1928, with the name “The Geelong Amateur Operatic Company”. In 1941 it was renamed the “Geelong Musical Comedy Company” to reflect the types of productions it was producing.

Due to the second World War, the company went into recess between 1942-1945.
At the conclusion of the war, a meeting was held with Kath Gill, Edna Searle, Ian
O’Neil, Roy Elsum & Joan Bennett and it was decided that the Company would restart.

A general meeting it was held, and a unanimous decision was made to produce another show. “Floradora” was directed by Norman Lees and opened on the 5th of November 1946.

In the same year The Geelong Society of Operatic and Dramatic Arts was formed and this became the umbrella Company for GMCC, the Gilbert and Sullivan Society (G&S), The Playgoers (1950), The GSODA Junior Players (1965), the GSODA Junior Players workshop (1973) and heatre Collective (2001).

The company prides itself on bringing high calibre productions to the stage as well as offering training and opportunity in all areas of the performing arts.

There are currently three sections to manage including the GSODA Junior Player, GSODA Junior Players Workshop and Theatre Collective.



  • The John Rocke Oscar was renamed the Teveye Award
  • The Award of Merit
  • Chorus Award
  • John and Edie Frankland wardrobe award

GSODA Junior Players

  • Citizenship Award renamed the Noeline Jennings Award
  • Presidents Award renamed the Ian O’Neil Award (runner up to the NJ)
  • Presidents Award
  • Patrons Encouragement Awards renamed Julie Basham EW.
  • Jason Thomas Award
  • Melanie Jewson wardrobe award.


  • Life Members
  • Special Service Awards
%d bloggers like this: